Week Five- Unbelievable Jeff!

I seem to be publishing these blogs later and later in the week (or in this case…the following week). I’m sorry. It’s not that you’re not important, I love our time together, and I will get back to being prompt on Friday for our weekly catch-up.

There’s been some major sporting achievements in my life this week and I feel like these need to be shared with you- just in case there are any agents out there, I’d better start with my tenpin bowling victory last weekend. In the mighty Wellingborough International Bowling Alley, I brought a group of my friends and ruthlessly even Becca to tears when I won three games of bowling in a row. I don’t know if I’m getting better as my arms are becoming fatter but I topped a ton on all three occasions. What must make the victory even greater is the fact that the others were all using the barriers- amateurs! Any international agents out there, sign me up before I’m under a seven-figure contract (If you cannot tell already, I’ve never won a bowling match before and I am going to milk this for all it’s worth).

Now I must move on to football. Firstly, I’m going to completely ignore the pretty bleak game I witnessed on Tuesday when Villa lost to West Ham. Jordan Ayew being sent off in the 17th minute really did change the game and from then on we were just on the defence.

Saturday was a completely different story however, Aston Villa WON a game of football. WON. Not lost. WON. Unbelievable Jeff! That’s not something that I have been able to say that much this year and by beating Norwich 2-0…. there’s probably still no chance that’ll we’ll avoid relegation. But anyway, I still enjoyed the buzz that winning a game gives you: I sang Villa chants in a yobbish manner around the house and accompanied it with a very strange victory dance- if you’re a Leicester fan this season, you probably are just used to winning so don’t try to understand.

Finally, in sport this week, we cannot forget to mention Super Bowl 50. Whilst I have watched a bit of the NFL before, I’d never seen this incredible event and felt it was an experience I needed. Although I’ve witnessed the bizarre way in which the Americans seem to invade their TV with advertisements before, I was amazed at the amount of commercials that interrupted the game. There was a break every time that possession changed- how can you get into the excitement of a final when it’s all stop-start? Luckily, this time allowed the BBC to explain what had just happened in the previous play, as I’m sure not many of us understood what was going on. The half-time show (I’m not going to pretend to have lasted that long, it took an hour and a half before the second quarter was finished!!!) brought us Coldplay, Beyonce and Bruno Mars- has anyone seen the Carpool Karaoke that James Corden did with Chris Martin? I recommend it! Also, did we all see Beyonce save herself from stumbling over in her routine? I haven’t seen that much sass since the Money Supermarket advert with the man in those tight shorts aired…

Talking about shows, I also went to see Jersey Boys this week in Northampton- the story of the Four Seasons and namely Frankie Valli. You can pretend that Justin Bieber has an amazing voice, but Valli’s vocals could hit some incredible notes.  It’s not dubstep or grime like you roadmen out there dig, but these guys wrote some classic hits and the show was fantastic. Cheers to nan and granddad for taking us along with them!

So, it was another good week really. Plans are in the pipeline for my first trips which I shall update you next week! I’m going to endeavour to take to Twitter and Facebook more from now on as well so look out for daily posts and get involved-

Make sure you follow my Twitter account: @thatnblog https://twitter.com/thatnblog

 

Thanks for reading, until Friday! (I promise)

2 thoughts on “Week Five- Unbelievable Jeff!

Leave a comment